A Change in Cams, OR I Am Not the Best at Puns

3/30/13

A little while ago in March, I returned to New York City for a day trip. The photo pickings from that day are slim — it was awkwardly windy, and it got so cold in the evening that I really just wanted to keep my hands in my pockets instead of getting them out every now and then to snap a picture. This shot, taken somewhere in Times Square, is most probably the last image on this blog that will come from my crappy little Samsung point-and-shoot, because this afternoon UPS is delivering my Canon EOS Rebel T3i! A proper DSLR, finallyand about 4 years late compared to all my friends and classmates who jumped on the DSLR bandwagon ages ago and now have fledgling “photography studios” (really just Facebook-based HS senior glamour shoot services, most of the time). So when I return to the UK in about 2 and a half weeks for my Oxford course and research fellowship, you can expect to see updates in significantly better quality.  🙂

Currently reading: Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Marble Faun, a story of 3 American artists in Rome and their Italian friend as they encounter specters, talk about art, yearn for freedom, and…well, I don’t know what else, because I’m only 70 pages in. I’m stupendously lazy when it comes to summer reading, so it’s doubtful I’ll be anywhere near halfway through by the time my seminar starts later this month.

Leave a Reply

